iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Seeking advice on house plans

Started by Ian_Driscoll92, October 07, 2023, 01:25:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ian_Driscoll92

I'm in the middle of drawing up the plans for my house I'll be building next year. 22x32 two story timber framed house.  White pine for the frame, oak braces.  12/12 roof. Galvanized steel roofing.  Most likely going to do a modified Larsen truss with blown in cellulose, 8" for walls 10" on roof. 68 psf snow load for my area. These plans are not completely done and have been hand drawn, so if it seems like there is anything missing, it's because I'm at a point where I could use some advice.  I've built timber frames before but am self taught and I have always built on a smaller scale, usually just copying what I've seen in old buildings.  So the design process is foreign to me and I lack confidence calculating loads and timber sizes.  I feel like the timbers are oversized in my plan and ideally would like to downsize wherever possible. Any advice or criticism is welcome.

Jim_Rogers

Personally, I don't like drop in dovetail purlins in a roof system. That's because of the shrinkage situation.
You can't rely on them staying in the rafter.

In the above picture the dovetail shrinks along the red dimension. And others used to pound in wedges at the blue line to hopefully hold the dovetail in. As I have never done it I don't know how it works.

Jim Rogers

Whatever you do, have fun doing it!
Woodmizer 1994 LT30HDG24 with 6' Bed Extension

sawguy21

Welcome aboard! I am not familiar with timber framing but am not a fan of galvanized roofs. My parents vacation cabin had one as it was easy and cheap to install but during rainstorms we couldn't hear ourselves think. Don't put entry ways under the eaves especially if you get a lot of snow.
old age and treachery will always overcome youth and enthusiasm

Ian_Driscoll92