iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Fair Price for WoodMizer LT40 Manual?

Started by MountainWood, August 14, 2004, 08:00:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MountainWood

Don't ask me what is possessing me to do this but I am "kicking the tires" on a mid-nineties vintage Woodmizer mill with 90 hrs on it. Comes with 6 blades, sharpener, resetting unit, and peavey on a trailer for $10,500. It's the one without hydraulics. What do you think?

Being realistic, I don't have visions of self-employment, but I am thinking it may augment my income a little. More likely it will hurt my golf game by giving me way too much to do over the weekends :D. The smell of fresh sawdust is intoxicating.

As you probably figured, I am a newbie with some experience on a LT15, so be gentle.  Thank you so much for your replys

AG

My prayers go out to folks in Florida hit by H. Charley.
I saw, therefore I am.

Paschale

Hi there,

I'm no expert myself on operating Woodmizers, but I just bought a used LT40 myself.  It turns out that Woodmizer has a "blue book" of sorts for their equipment, so if you call Woodmizer with all the info, they can give you what they feel is the fair market value.  Now, how true to life that is, perhaps others on the forum can give you insight on that.  But at least it's a reference point that can give you some idea of whether it's a fair price or not.  Here's their number:  1.800.553.0182. If you have the serial number, they can tell you exactly what year it was made too.  If I understand correctly, the first four numbers give a clue as to the month and year it was manufactured:  on mine, those are 0385, so I believe it was made in March of 1985.

Good luck, and let us know how it turns out for you!

Dan M.

P.S. Welcome to the forum!  You'll like it here!   8)
Y'all can pronounce it "puh-SKOLLY"

MemphisLogger

Sounds like a sweet deal to me!  :)