iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

I'm not worthy....

Started by LSUNo1, August 21, 2003, 08:59:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LSUNo1

But I'm gonna go ahead and post anyway. I've been soaking up ya'lls knowledge in stealth mode for several months now  and hate to think about the money it would cost to buy what I have learned.  :o

I have a manual mill and have cut about 1000 LBF to date from about 9 logs. Done one small paying job and from that job have lined up about 6 mos. worth of weekends cutting cypress. If it ever stops raining here for longer than a day or two have a few other jobs I could do. I've had my mill for about 3 months and shamefully made my decision based on pictures and videos.

Because of the onslaught of work and the calories burned operating the manual alone, I checked out first hand a used orange 40HD machine.... and NOW I understand >:(. Same as I understand my chevy is made for driving but....so is a BMW. Anyway here's where I show my %&#...

1. Is it common for a six year old orange machine to sell for only a grand less than new? Its in good shape and has supposedly just been serviced by the "man from Atlanta" but geez...

2. How often do you folks adjust your roller guides. According to the company supplied "blade alignment tool" my machine has required adjustment about once every two logs. They are adustable with 4 set screws and jam nuts. Its got to be me.

3. Anybody ever cut with a third party in the picture? This guy knows the guy with all the cypress logs. Says WE can cut it for halfs ???. May not be the ideal situation but beats sitting home. He'll help but I dont think he'll help enough to get half of my half. Any rules of thumb?

4. Any of you guys ever think about making an instructional video on sawing techniques, tips, tricks with portable mills. All the ones I've seen are only to sell the saw.  

Thanks in advance for any help, and thanks for all the good info. you all have shared so far.

biziedizie