iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

wide slab mill choice

Started by sixteenacrewood, February 16, 2010, 08:48:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

sixteenacrewood

hi everyone, i have been reading this forum for a year or more and the education has been of great value, thanks.
i am finally going to buy or build a mill and i would appreciate some input.
first off, i am a woodworker and carpenter and my main need for a mill is to produce extra wide slabs for furniture. i have 2 friends with mills that cut dimension lumber for me at a better than reasonable price.
i have 16 acres of mature hardwoods and i get large trees from two tree services.
and, don't laugh, for the last 4 years i have been freehand milling my furniture wood with a husky 455, 20in bar, brutal but effective.

due to the limits of my friends mills and my caveman style freehand milling i am leaning toward building a procut chainsaw mill. i want a 4-5 foot wide capacity and a 16 foot length of cut. i would like to power it with a 20-25hp 4 stroke.

keep in mind i am less concerned with high production rates than cutting specialty extra wide slabs from select trees/logs.

most of the wood i need for furniture is less than 7 feet in length.
i have looked at the dedicated wide slab mills but i can't even come close to affording one
i also have a crude solar kiln and will build a nicer one later this year

i am not realy sure what my question is other than"am i crazy?" but i already know the answer to that one

1.does anyone know of a post or website from someone who has built a mill like this?

2.what exactly is a harvester sproket?

3.is there a safe maximum width for a procut style chainsaw mill?

4.is there another mill type that can cut 4-5 ft width without spending 14-24k

thanks in advance for any help, and sorry for the long post.
stephen

Magicman

Welcome to The Forestry Forum...... 8)
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network