iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Corinth American Sawmill

Started by cohoel, July 22, 2011, 08:28:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cohoel

Is anyone familiar with Corinth American Sawmills?  Are there many/any lumber mills still using Corinth American in the US?  Are there still a lot of people who really know how to run one?  Are the sawmills difficult to run with one person or do you have to have a crew?  I think that they can cut REALLY big trees ... is it the only sawmill that can do that?  Obviously I am a newbie and am trying to get information before I get in too deep.

Thanks

jimparamedic

Pics so we can see what you have. A lot of old mills are a mix of several mill

sparky

Jim,
I operate a belt driven, right hand, 48" Corinth-American that was bought in 1974 I believe. I have a full set of the construction drawings for it. The antique tractor club I belong to bought it from the original owner last year. (He was 87 years old and was still sawing last July.) It is a very strong mill and very well built. This mill has 3 headblocks and they will retract to about 38". The 48" blade is a limiting factor as it is maxed out on about a 24" log. A top saw ought to be added if sawing larger logs on a regular basis.

The only issue I have with it is the carriage drive. It uses belt tensioning to advance and return the carriage. We had a minor accident last fall when belting up with a steam engine. (A steam engine's belt pulley turns backward when in reverse.) That caused a belt to climb onto the flange of a pulley and the carriage advanced when the control stick was locked in neutral. One of my crew received a cut to his finger that required 12 stitches. I intend to replace the drive with hydraulics next month.