iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

NEWBIE Wood-Mizer LT-40 super hydraulic

Started by matt s, March 30, 2008, 06:58:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

matt s

I ran into a situation, which I am excited about... My wifes best friends Dad, gave me a call and told me to come get his woodmizer, he doesnt run it anymore and doesnt want it... takes up to much room.  3-5 years old? 180 hours on it.
Im a photographer now. but before that I dried lumber for over 10 years.  I played with a old saw mill on a farm years ago and enjoyed it... I want to run this WM. my questions are as follows and thanks in advance for the help.
Where can I start to get some jobs? some one said start by cutting pallet material? is this good? who do I contact for logs? someone also said get in touch with tree service people they have non saleable material...?  Basically how do I develop leads to find some work. I know these are simple questions, but Ive been out of the industry so long I dont have any contacts anymore.

Thanks again Matt

beav39

welcome matt,this is a great site for info.first off what area of the country are you in and are you going to saw only part time or full time?do you intend on selling lumber or just sawing for others?these things will play a roll in what types of wood you will need,.is there any other millers around you ?        scot
sawdust in the blood

Tom

Matt,
Just get the saw before he changes his mind.   :D

Work will find you.  Your first jobs will probably be custom sawing.  That's not bad. It gets your name out.  you need to start circulating yourself.   Go to wood working clubs and visit (you don't have to hard-sell) Pass out business cards.

I wouldn't be too concerned with buying logs and selling lumber until I had a Market.   It will take some time to realize what you can do and what you want to do.

Bibbyman

Welcome to the Forum!   8)

Like Tom said,  if you do good work,  work will find you.