iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Another build thread... JoshNZ

Started by JoshNZ, August 04, 2019, 08:52:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JoshNZ

Well I decided I will start a build thread, more for my sake of asking questions etc than any body else's  :D. I'm Josh from New Zealand as name implies! Got no business building something like this, very little 'engineering experience' so. No laughing... I'm a chopper driver/fruit grower and between the two busy seasons right now so spending most days at it.

Basically I wanted a simple trailer unit with basic setup procedure, it'll get handed around friends (those I deem capable..) so length was compromised for ease of traveling. It all came together pretty quickly, first two days I had a rolling trailer.

A few weld photos for good measure. I don't own a mig and I wasn't going to tow the pedal around the floor with me, so stick it was.

Axle cut to length and stubs welded in. I fitted hubs on between tacks/welds and measured distance around rim to make sure of alignment.

Some of the steel I'm using is from dads shed, been sitting around for several decades so work slows down when I have to tidy it up. I cut a bit of old 1/2" unequal for the hitch and faced it on the mill. Will add a gusset later.

I took it for a quick drive and it behaves nicely. The wheels are off an old ute I'll have to find something smaller but it'll keep it manoeuvrable for now.

I got straight into the carriage. Milled and drilled slots for each wheel on the bases, then built each side, then tacked angle iron to the bed (one along a string line, the other at equal distance from it) and assembled sitting at head of trailer. I must say I had a prick of a time keeping the thing square, as there is no 'bottom beam' to fight the other welds with. Even with the bracing it would pull in tight once clamps were removed. I had several attempts at stretching it over sized a small amount and eventually got lucky when removing clamps where it was bang on.