The Forestry Forum is sponsored in part by:

iDRY Vacuum Kilns


Forestry Forum
Sponsored by:


TimberKing Sawmills



Toll Free 1-800-582-0470

LogRite Tools



Norwood Industries Inc.




Your source for Portable Sawmills, Edgers, Resaws, Sharpeners, Setters, Bandsaw Blades and Sawmill Parts

EZ Boardwalk Sawmills. More Saw For Less Money!

STIHLDealers.com sponsored by Northeast STIHL


Woodland Sawmills

Peterson Swingmills

 KASCO SharpTech WoodMaxx Blades

Turbosawmill

Sawmill Exchange

Michigan Firewood, your BRUTE FORCE Authorized Dealer

Baker Products

ECHO-Bearcat

iDRY Wood Lumber Vacuum Drying for everyon

Nyle Kiln Dry Systems

Chainsawr, The Worlds Largest Inventory of Chainsaw Parts

Smith Sawmill Service



Author Topic: Saw Runs With Stop Switch Off  (Read 489 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Guydreads

  • Full Member x2
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • Age: 61
  • Location: Spain
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm new!
    • Share Post
Saw Runs With Stop Switch Off
« on: December 02, 2021, 03:54:11 PM »
Basically, the title is pretty self explanatory. This only happens occasionally, maybe once every 20-30 times I run it, maybe even fewer. Just want to know if there is something to be done, or if this is normal. First off, it's a J'red 2071 Turbo with a fresh build and new rings, somewhat broken in. I have tested the whole electrical system thoroughly and it the stop switch seems to work perfectly, because when I check the spark plug and test it off and on, the spark works accordingly. I also tested it for current, and it seems fine. (Let's electricity to the ground when off, doesn't when on). So, is it basically trying to be a big brother diesel? Or is it something to do with the fresh build? Or is it normal for a saw this size? Thanks.

Offline Real1shepherd

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 1069
  • Age: 68
  • Location: Eastern WA
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: Saw Runs With Stop Switch Off
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2021, 04:03:39 PM »
Just sounds like a bad switch. Follow it back to the coil and see if the switch wire is rubbing at all and going to ground. That's all the switch does....is jump the coil to ground.

I don't see how it has anything to do with your build....you coil is intermittently shorting to ground. Either the switch or the wire to the coil.

Kevin

Offline Hilltop366

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 3489
  • Location: Nova Scotia
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: Saw Runs With Stop Switch Off
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2021, 04:32:42 PM »
Does it run like normal? Shorts or grounding would cause it to sputter or stall, a poor connection at either end or a break in the kill wire will prevent it from grounding and shutting off.

I have a old Dolmar that does not always shut off with the switch, it is a toggle switch so if I press a bit harder it will usually work if not the choke will ;D. I don't use the saw much anymore.

Offline barbender

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 9122
  • Age: 46
  • Location: Deer River MN
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: Saw Runs With Stop Switch Off
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2021, 05:55:25 PM »
That family of saws is notorious for the ignition switch going bad. I've replaced 2 or 3 on my saw. The choke works just fine for a shut off😁
Too many irons in the fire

Offline lxskllr

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 2129
  • Age: 53
  • Location: MD USA
  • Gender: Male
  • dummy with saw
    • Share Post
Re: Saw Runs With Stop Switch Off
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2021, 08:23:53 PM »
A switch is a pretty simple mechanism. Without knowing anything about that particular saw, I'd say it has crud built up inside, or possibly it's built in a way that'll fail intermittently when you use it. If it were failing all the time, I'd take it apart and have a look. For as little as it's failing you, barbender's choke suggestion sounds fine to me. I'd be afraid of turning a rare issue into a constant issue by playing with it at this point.

Offline Old Greenhorn

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 5858
  • Age: 66
  • Location: Catskill Mountains, NY
  • Gender: Male
  • An old coot, still learning.
    • Share Post
    • Woodsman Forest Products
Re: Saw Runs With Stop Switch Off
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2021, 08:45:38 PM »
I had the same problem on my 372 clone, so I put a OEM switch in it. I think it is the same switch as yours. The problem started again after a few hours use. Right now I can't start the saw and I am pretty sure it is that switch. I put it aside and grabbed another saw and haven't dove into it yet. The good news, if it the same switch, is that it pries right out of the slot, you don't even have to open the covers. I opened the first one up and fixed it, it's just a poor design. As I was cycle testing it on the bench it failed again. Now the replacement has failed. I had bought a few of them, maybe I'll just stick another one in. It's faster than changing a spark plug.
Tom Lindtveit, Woodsman Forest Products
Oscar 328 Band Mill, Husky 450, 562, & 372 (Clone), Mule 3010, and too many hand tools. :) Retired and trying to make a living to stay that way. NYLT Certified.
OK, maybe I am the woodcutter now.
I can work with wood, but I am NOT a Woodworker, but almost.

Offline Spike60

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 864
  • Location: Ulster County, NY
    • Share Post
Re: Saw Runs With Stop Switch Off
« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2021, 07:20:35 AM »
Pretty straight forward problem here. Either the switch, (likely), or the blue wire between the switch and the coil. There's the short black wire but that's a rare item to fail.
Husqvarna-Jonsered
Ashokan Turf and Timber
845-657-6395

Offline Tacotodd

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 2085
  • Age: 50
  • Location: Bauxite AR
  • Gender: Male
  • To learn and help
    • Share Post
Re: Saw Runs With Stop Switch Off
« Reply #7 on: December 03, 2021, 08:21:11 AM »
@Spike60 I need to check mine because itís started to act up as well. But seeing as I donít have much call to use it (and I jump at every chance to do so) Iíll start by checking out the mechanical integrity of my blue wire and see how that goes. But since that switch is affordable in price (suggest OE or AM 🧐) I donít think that Iíll have much monetary problems with just replacing it. But yes, Iíve always got that choke option. Rather not, but always works.

BTW, ALL of my local saw dealers around here charge full list, so keep that bit of information in mind when you respond please :embarassed:
Trying harder everyday.

Offline Spike60

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 864
  • Location: Ulster County, NY
    • Share Post
Re: Saw Runs With Stop Switch Off
« Reply #8 on: December 03, 2021, 09:33:22 AM »
I charge list on parts as well Todd. It's a $10 switch
Husqvarna-Jonsered
Ashokan Turf and Timber
845-657-6395

Offline Tacotodd

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 2085
  • Age: 50
  • Location: Bauxite AR
  • Gender: Male
  • To learn and help
    • Share Post
Re: Saw Runs With Stop Switch Off
« Reply #9 on: December 03, 2021, 10:13:09 AM »
Thanks Bob. Just needed to know what to expect. thumbs-up
Trying harder everyday.


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via linkedin Share via pinterest Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via tumblr Share via twitter

xx
Stihl 009L Stop Switch

Started by jbj53 on Chainsaws

3 Replies
395 Views
Last post August 23, 2020, 10:07:33 PM
by ZeroJunk
xx
Control station...start/stop switch needed

Started by Larry on Wanted

0 Replies
1037 Views
Last post March 25, 2006, 08:05:44 PM
by Larry
xx
got the 250 together and runs great,but

Started by southdakotasolo on Chainsaws

3 Replies
816 Views
Last post December 27, 2018, 05:35:06 AM
by Air Lad
xx
$20 and runs like a champ ....

Started by TexasTimbers on General Board

11 Replies
2575 Views
Last post April 07, 2006, 09:18:32 AM
by sawguy21
 


Powered by EzPortal