iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

stihl 024 crank seals

Started by ladrhog, October 29, 2013, 11:59:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ladrhog

This is the clutch side seal and it is leaking what looks like outside the seal.  It is where the red is that it is leaking.  I have never done one before and am looking for advice.  from the looks of a new seal it looks like the seal isn't leaking.  need some advice from someone who knows more than me
**new to me ms441**
ms200t           
ms362
ms260
026 pro
Pioneer p-41

nmurph

No, crank seals leak around the rubber. Why do you think it is leaking around the machined surfaces? When you pull the seal, eye-ball the seat for irregularities. Both the seal and the case should be smooth. Loc-tite makes some sealants that will fill minor voids if needed (which I doubt).

joe_indi

ladrhog,

This is a regular occurrence here.
Resin and fine sawdust cause the crank bearings to become slightly sluggish. This in turn causes the outer part of the bearing, seated on the crankcase to start rotating.In no time it becomes a 'freewheeling'  bearing.And when that happens the air leaks start similar to what has happened with your 024.
Since my country has cheaper working bills, I get the seats re-sleeved with thicker cast iron inserts that last for ages.
If,  in your area, the costs for doing this are prohibitive, here is an alternative cure, which though effective might be more temporary.
Drive out the bearing from the crankcase.
Cut out a piece of very fine steel mesh (something similar to the mesh that comes on air filters)
Apply epoxy to the mesh and line it in the bearing seat.
Tap the bearing back into position.
Wait till the epoxy has set before you start it. ( retain a drop of epoxy on a piece of paper. When this drop sets the epoxy in the bearing seat too would have set)

Joe

ladrhog