iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Motor size & type

Started by jrokusek, March 08, 2005, 03:57:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jrokusek

Like I said a few posts ago....I'm building a sawmill.  I'm just a woodworker who's trying to make his own lumber, no plans to go large or commercial.  I've found a few Tecumseh 10HP horizontal shaft engines for about $200 (model HM100).  The ones I found look like they were designed to work with a water pump or a generator.  The price is right but I'm wondering if they're so cheap because of the tapered crankshaft.   Can I slip a pulley on the small end and run it?  My very limited knowledge of pulleys and gears tells me that they typically shouldn't be put at the very end of the shaft unless it's absolutely necessary.  Think it'll work OK or am I asking for problems?  See picture below. - Jim -

Dan_Shade

if they run good, you could always start them and hold an angle grinder against the shaft to make it one diameter so the pulley stay on there.

Woodmizer LT40HDG25 / Stihl 066 alaskan
lots of dull bands and chains

There's a fine line between turning firewood into beautiful things and beautiful things into firewood.

Jason_WI

I believe that MSC, and grainger sell tapered sheaves.  www.msc-direct.com

I wouldn't take an angle grinder to it unless it's your last option. Take the crank out and have it turned down on a lathe would be a better option.

Jason
Norwood LM2000, 20HP Honda, 3 bed extentions. Norwood Edgemate edger. Gehl 4835SXT

tnlogger

jim you can buy tapered pulleys or an adapter for it.
Tecumseh would work for what your planning they are just a little on the light side for a sawmill.
try http://www.surpluscenter.com they might have a pulley the size you need.
gene

Furby

Mine is an 11 horse Honda.
Yes it's light, but it does cut.

jrokusek