iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Setworks Calculator

Started by D6c, April 08, 2021, 08:40:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

D6c

I had a customer ask for some lumber to be sawed at an odd thickness and I don't have an electronic setworks.
I had to use a calculator to figure what the next scale setting for each cut and also had to figure from the bottom up so i would end up with the last board at the right thickness.....time consuming.

As an exercise I started playing with Exel and came up with a little spreadsheet to do all the math.
All it requires is for you to enter:
*  The desired thickness of the lumber
*  The blade Kerf
*  Nearest fraction you'd like it to round UP the setting (ie: round up to the nearest 1/32")
*  The thickness you'd like to leave the last board (for some mills that can't cut down to 1" on last cut)

The cut list can be easily printed out and stuck up on the mill for reference.

I don't know if it would be useful to anyone but you're welcome to it.
If you do use it, please verify the measurements a time or two before you trust it.  I don't want anyone cutting something wrong if I've made a typo somewhere in the spreaadsheet.

WV Sawmiller

That looks a lot like my Cheat Sheet only yours can calculate on the fly. I took the common sizes I cut and made a column for each and start on that mark for my last series of cuts and end on a finished board. For anything under 3/4" I plan on finishing on a 1" board. I use a standard 1/8" kerf for my planning and it seems to work for me.

Here is a copy I keep in a plastic ziploc bag under a couple of HF magnets on the inner cover of my setworks panel.
Howard Green
WM LT35HDG25(2015) , 2011 4WD F150 Ford Lariat PU, Kawasaki 650 ATV, Stihl 440 Chainsaw, homemade logging arch (w/custom built rear log dolly), JD 750 w/4' wide Bushhog brand FEL

Dad always said "You can shear a sheep a bunch of times but you can only skin him once

D6c