iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Moulder recommendation for a small business

Started by yieldmap, April 20, 2005, 06:34:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

yieldmap

Hey guys,

I've been hobby-ing my way into this business for a couple of years now.  I'm harvesting my own trees, and have a local sawyer who is great to work with.  I'm interesting in getting into more value-added products, such as moulding.

In particular, I've got a brother-in-law who is building a new house.  At the sight of his $,000 quote for mouldings, I mentioned that I might be able to supply him.  My idea: if I can get the moulder paid for, I'll throw in the hardwood.  Save him some money and get me more tools!!

I'm interested in your recommendations/opinions for moulders.  I'm looking for something small to start with, just to do his house and a few hundred feet for myself in the beginning.  I've looked at the Woodmaster, but also see the smaller Shop Fox, Grizzly, and W&H units.  Who likes what, and which do you recommend for my job?

Thanks,
yieldmap

beenthere

This sounds like a good challenge and way to get started.

Do you have experience making moulding?
Can you tell us what moulding patterns your BIL wants in his home?
Do you want to make the moulding in one pass, or several runs with different steps to get the final patterns?
Any idea what $$$ amount you might be shooting for, or to stay under?

I'd think finding some older equipment would be a good way to get started.

Making good moulding is a skill of knowledge, talent, and patience, besides having uniformally dried material to work with (if several machine passes will be necessary), and a species that is fairly easy to mould.

Can you fill us in about what you have in mind?  May help the answers to get you on the way to moulding.
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

yieldmap