iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Sketchup help needed

Started by Piston, June 18, 2013, 02:41:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Piston

I'm pretty experienced with Sketchup, but I am having a hard time figuring something out, that I've never done before. 

A friend of mine asked me to show him how to "trim" a cylindrical shape.  I told him sure, no problem.  Well, I can't do what he wants! 

He is a welder, and wants to start using sketchup to design some of his projects.  He uses a lot of round bar steel, so needs to use the circle function a lot.  Since the only thing I really use sketchup for is timber frame models, I almost never use the circle function, aside from pegs. 

So I made a 2x10x8' component in sketchup, then I made a 4" circle and extended it, about 6' long or so.  I then moved it so it protruded through the 2x10 (perpendicular) about 2'.  Then using the push/pull tool I simply shortened the cylinder to "trim" the end, and make it flush with the 10" face of the 2x10.  Easy. 

However, he wanted me to show him how to trim it as if it were a brace, so I rotated it 45° and moved it so it protruded through the 2x10 again, but at a 45° angle, just like a brace.  This is where I ran into problems.

Normally if it were a brace, I would just edit the component, draw a line on it, and use the push/pull tool to erase the section I didn't want.  But, with a cylinder, I couldn't do this. 

So how do you "trim" a cylinder when it's at an angle, protruding through a rectangular piece? 
-Matt
"What the Lion is to the Cat the Mastiff is to the Dog, the noblest of the family; he stands alone, and all others sink before him. His courage does not exceed his temper and generosity, and in attachment he equals the kindest of his race."

bmike

Pro? Use the solids tools and trim one from the other.

Free? There might be some plugins to help, but here is the long hand way to do it:

I'll try a post a video later, but you learned the basics in my SketchUp class.