iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

I used, tordon in residential setting, help!

Started by Yardworkman09, August 18, 2019, 10:26:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Yardworkman09

Hello!  I just joined the board so I can learn a bit more about trees; we've had some bad luck since purchasing a property last year (tons of trees fell over, had to remove 4 of them right away).  I'm freaking out due to a mistake I think I made.

So, we had about 7 Crepe Myrtles on one side of our house that didn't get much light.  They made the area unusable and were pathetic looking.  So, the decision was made to cut them down.  Most were small, with a diameter of around 3" or less, one was around 7".  It was recommended to me that I use Tordon, which I did about 24-48 hours after the trees were cut down.  I drilled into the stumps a bit with a drill and then carefully applied the Tordon.  None dripped on the ground.

Afterwards, I started learning more about Tordon and I have come to find out that it can migrate through the root system, into the soil, and even transfer from the roots/soil to other trees!!!  I'm worried because there are some bushes nearby 4-5 feet along with a couple mature oak trees 7-10 feet away.  A large, very awesome cypress is about 15+ feet away.  If the oak trees die, I would be devastated and I would feel horrible.  Needless to say, I think I made a mistake and I should have done my research.

The tordon was applied about 72 hours ago, there hasn't been any rain, the soil is REALLY dry (I'm in North Texas).  I can think of a few options, but I'm not sure what to do.

1) Leave it alone
2) Dig the stumps out (a ton of work, and I'll likely have to chop a couple roots to get it done since I bet they extend past my fence line).  Replace NONE of the dirt, dump it in the trash and re-fill with new dirt.
3) Burn the stumps out and hope the heat burns off the Tordon and kills the stump, allowing me to dig as much as I can, out.