iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Planting Trees for Future Lumber

Started by panhandle, October 20, 2012, 06:33:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

panhandle

I'm young and I'd like to plant about twenty trees now so that I might harvest and mill them in the coming decades. I'm brand new to milling, so I thought I would ask for species recommendations here.

I would be planting in North Idaho, USDA zone 5-6, and I'm curious about the following aspects of different trees

1) Time to harvest maturity
2) Price/bf
3) Price of saplings
4) Ease of cultivation

Thanks.

bandmiller2

I would look up your local county forester,he will know whats best for your area and probibly give you the seedlings.Mayby look into exotic high dollar varietys too.You have the years ahead thats an advantage that cannot be bought at any price. Frank C.
A man armed with common sense is packing a big piece

hackberry jake

It might be hard to harvest them after you nourish them and raise them for 20 or so years.
https://www.facebook.com/TripleTreeWoodworks

EZ Boardwalk Jr. With 20hp Honda, 25' of track, and homemade setworks. 32x18 sawshed. 24x40 insulated shop. 30hp kubota with fel. 1978 Massey ferguson 230.

Ianab

I'm going to suggest walnut trees.

Reason is that you can get a crop off them for many years before you actually harvest the timber.

But the main problem is it take a LONG time to grow good quality trees in most climates. Sure there are trees that can get to a millable size in 20 years, but they tend to be low value. Hybrid poplars, things like that.

Ian
Weekend warrior, Peterson JP test pilot, Dolmar 7900 and Stihl MS310 saws and  the usual collection of power tools :)

Tree Feller

I second the suggestion to talk to your county forester or extension service agent. They will be able to give you up-to-date advice on what will give you the best ROI in your area.
Cody

Logmaster LM-1 Sawmill
Kioti CK 30 w/ FEL
Stihl MS-290 Chainsaw
48" Logrite Cant Hook