iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Garden Shed from ash timbers

Started by DanMc, January 07, 2022, 06:03:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DanMc

My wife has been bugging me for a long time to build her a garden shed.  I have an HM126 saw mill and ended up with enough logs to produce all the wood I need for the build, so I made a rule that all wood for the project must come off the mill.

This is a 9'x12' footprint with a 12 pitch roof.  

Generally, it's my understanding that a timber frame is typically built from spruce or some other softwood, but older barns like the one on our farm was built out of a very tight grained hardwood - maybe maple.  In my case, all I have to work with is white ash and a couple big red oak logs.  Most of the milling is completed.  Considering that shovel handles are made from ash, I would expect that this would be strong.  

I have no prior experience with a timber frame build, so my natural inclination is to make some easy-to-cut notches and tie it all together with Timberlock screws in deep pre-drilled holes.  This is the point where I was thinking I might get run off the forum for violating the purity of the timber framing culture.  Cutting 20-30 square mortises in hard white ash timbers is a bit of an undaunting task for me.  Feedback from you experts will be helpful in this area.

Anyway, I have a design that I've been working up in SketchUp.  Here's a screen grab to get started with.  

LT35HDG25
JD 4600, JD2210, JD332 tractors.
28 acres of trees, Still have all 10 fingers.
Jesus is Lord.

WV Sawmiller

Dan,

I saw your concern about comments from some of the experts here, of which I am not one. As I read your post right now it is just for information. 

If you have a specific question about some aspect of the build I'd suggest you post  that and see if you don't get answers to them. Good luck and be careful. Be sure to include in progress photos/reports.
Howard Green