iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Green wood bunks

Started by Peterd, February 14, 2024, 12:28:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Peterd

Good afternoon 

I am new to the sawmilling game and I have a really basic question that I haven't quite seen addressed I guess. I am hoping someone here might be able to post a quick answer. 

Can I build my drying bunks out of the same green Blue Spruce lumber that I will then be putting on them?
Assuming that these bunks are then placed on proper flat level For drying, would the degree of shrinkage put enough stress on the stack to ruin the boards?

Perhaps ruin's a bit strong, but induce of warp, nonetheless. 

I have until the end of winter to mill up perhaps 35 halfway decent logs, and then my attention Has to turn to other things.

Naturally , I was hoping to use some of the smaller logs as bunks and stickers. My plan was to cut up the stickers and try to get them somewhat dry before then using them  I figure I have enough time to accomplish that with fans and what not

Pete

doc henderson

not sure if you mean just dunnage to set lumber on like a 4x4 or are you referring to like a skid or pallet?  either way, I think green is ok as long as you weight it down. the weight of the wood should keep it in place, and in the future will conform the skid to the surface below.  there are some threads on drying platforms/racks and also skids and pallets.  It is usually low-grade lumber and I think green is ok, assuming I am interpreting your question correctly.
Timber king 2000, 277c track loader, PJ 32 foot gooseneck, 1976 F700 state dump truck, JD 850 tractor.  2007 Chevy 3500HD dually, home built log splitter 18 horse 28 gpm with 5 inch cylinder and 32 inch split range with conveyor powered by a 12 volt tarp motor

beenthere

PeterD
Welcome to the Forestry Forum.

As Doc says, and first just lay down a sticker on the green bunk wood before stacking lumber on top. Should be good to go.
south central Wisconsin