iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Advice on improving skidder stability ?!? Bought a new to me skidder need tips..

Started by RunningRoot, October 08, 2014, 08:36:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RunningRoot

Hey everybody, glad to be apart of the forum ! I have read and learned a lot over the past few months and finally took the time to register !

I am a 27 year old Owner operator of a small logging operation in Ohio. I've been cutting for a little over 2 years now and have progressed steadily. Up untill the last month I have always skidded my timber by dozer, I have a nice little low hour Case 450 Dozer that I have used to skid with and used a case 450 Track loader to load with. With plenty of work ahead and the fact that I have taken on bigger tracts of timber I decided It was time to purchase a skidder.

Last month I purchased a 1980 Tree farmer C4D skidder in good shape, everything works so far and I am really pleased with the hitch it will pull, far more productive then small dozer logging ! 

My problem is the stability of the skidder !! Most of the timber I cut are on hillsides and some you could call cliffs !
I have just about killed myself on this thing several times now and I haven't even attempted the hairy spots yet  :-\
I love the skidder as it is a much needed step up in production but I need to figure out how to get more stability out of it !
So my questions are....

How do I make this tree farmer C4D more stable for hillside operations ?!?

It has 16.9-30 Tires at about 50% ( no chains, looking).
Ford 4 cylinder industrial motor.
4 speed manual trans.

Sorry for long post and thank you for any input in advance. Really look forward to enjoying the forum !
A log in the hands worth two in the bush !

JustinW_NZ

Welcome to the forum.

I have the exact same machine by the sounds of it.

you will find that the dozer will work on steep terrain the skidder cant go near.
Im not an expert on these things but im sure someone else will chime in.