iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

guide roller bearing question

Started by limbrat, January 30, 2011, 03:27:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

limbrat

I have a base model log master lm1. I was greasing the guide rollers this evening and when i pulled the grease gun off the front of the guide roller came with it. I never turned it up to look in it, just shuved it back in got a piece of wood and a hammer and drove it back in place like a dust cover on a trailer axle. I will call log master on monday, but i was wondering if someone could tell me if its a dust cover that push off cause it got to much grease or if i got a problem. when i fired the saw back up it seamed to be fine. according to the manual the bearing is a 6304rs. Sorry no pictures i hadnt been able to do that since gustave.
ben

Larry

6304 is a common bearing.  Not sure what the rs suffix stands for.  I just bought some that were the sealed style and paid $3 plus change each.

Larry, making useful and beautiful things out of the most environmental friendly material on the planet.

We need to insure our customers understand the importance of our craft.

sgschwend

6304rs is a sealed bearing.  Sounds like you knocked the seal out which I think is just clipped on (not really pressed on).  I did not think sealed bearing were setup for greasing since they are "sealed",  not sure how that works.
Steve Gschwend

sjgschwend@gmail.com

Chuck White

Some sealed bearings are greasable!

For instance, the blade guide roller bearings on my WoodMizer.  Some WoodMizers don't have that grease fitting and are truly sealed.

They only get one (1) shot of grease every 4 hours of operation.

Much more than that would probably dislodge the seals.
~Chuck~  Cooks Cat Claw sharpener and single tooth setter.  2018 Chevy Silverado and 2021 Subaru Ascent.
With basic mechanical skills and the ability to read you can maintain a Woodmizer  LT40!

limbrat