iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Motor oil

Started by GTP, May 31, 2018, 10:01:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GTP

I'm new to FF and new to bandmilling. Thanks for all the great information on the site.  I am getting close to time to change oil in my 35.5hp Yanmar and was just wondering what motor oil you use.  thanks gtp.

POSTON WIDEHEAD

I have the Yanmar 35.9. By all means look in your manual for the correct oil or call Yanmar and give them the serial number and they will tell you.  :)
The older I get I wish my body could Re-Gen.

YellowHammer

Any of the good diesel motor oils would work, I like the Rotella Synthetic.
YellowHammerisms:

Take steps to save steps.

If it won't roll, its not a log; it's still a tree.  Sawmills cut logs, not trees.

Kiln drying wood: When the cookies are burned, they're burned, and you can't fix them.

Sawing is fun for the first couple million boards.

Be smarter than the sawdust

GTP

I've used Rotella for years in my other equipment but have not tried the synthetic.  I'm thinking about staying with the Rotella, just wanted to make sure there wasn't a go to oil for the Yanmar.  thanks for the info!

Southside

Usually I am of the belief that most of the commodity products are pretty much all the same, but there is something about Rotella that makes it stand above the rest, I use it in all of my diesel equipment and consumption is basically zero. For reference most of my heavy iron is from the '90's and my pickup has over 400,000 on it, so nothing is shinny and new. Good oil for sure. 
Franklin buncher and skidder
JD Processor
Woodmizer LT Super 70 and LT35 sawmill, KD250 kiln, BMS 250 sharpener and setter
Riehl Edger
Woodmaster 725 and 4000 planner and moulder
Enough cows to ensure there is no spare time.
White Oak Meadows

barbender

Rotella T6 synthetic👍
Too many irons in the fire

thecfarm

GTP,welcome to the forum.
What kind of mill ya got?  Must saw for others?