iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Adjusting a Stihl Carburator

Started by mtnman, December 02, 2012, 06:50:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mtnman

I have been using stihl chainsaws for 20 years and dont remember doing any carburator work on any of them.  I have had to work on some weedeater carbs.  I read on another thread in here that you needed to learn how to adjust your own saw carburator for better performance. 

I am not sure on a Stihl but here is what it says in my weedeater manual:

Inital adjustment
1-Turn HI and LO Adjustment screws clockwise until they seat lightly in the carburator body.
2-Turn LO adjustment screw counter-clockwise one turn.
3-Start engine and allow to run at high idle until warm 2-3 minutes

Low Speed adjustment
1-Slowly turn LO adjustment screw clockwise and note the posistion when engine speed drops.
2-Turn LO adjustment screw counterclockwise and note the posistion when engine speed drops.
3-Set the screw midway between these points.

High Speed Adjustment
1-Turn HI adjustment screw counterclockwise 1-1/4 turns.
2-While engine is running at full throttle, turn HI adjustment screw clockwise until engine runs smoothly.
3-Turn HI adjustment screw counterclockwise 1/8 turn to obtain optimum fuel mixture for full power under load conditions.

Will this weedeater proceedure work for my Stihl Carbs?
How do you adjust yours or what would you recommend?
mtnman

T Welsh

mtnman, Your pretty much spot on for carb adjusting! I start with 1 turn out on high and low and go from there. The fuel we have been getting with ethanol in it has been a nightmare to small engines in the last 5 years. Check your fuel lines and impulse lines for cracks first. If it doesn't help and carb rebuild kit will usually fix the problem if its a carb related issue. Tim

Randy88