iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Consorting with Pecan (the Devil) and Need Advice

Started by WDH, August 19, 2013, 09:08:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

WDH

smiley_devil

I am building what might be called an entry table.  It is a narrow table that sits against a wall and is a place that you can put your keys on or other stuff on as you come into the house.  I decided to use pecan ( smiley_devil) for the table top.  The base will be wrought iron and will be made by an associate that is good with wrought iron (as I am not good with metal of any sort.  It has to have leaves or bark on it for me to deal with it  :)).  Anyway, this piece of pecan has a lot of issues character.  There is a crotch section with a lot of figure, but the crotch had in-grown bark.  I used walnut dutchmen to stabilize the split in the crotch.  However, there is a gap that begs to be filled.  Therein lies the question.

I experimented on another piece that had some splits in it.  I wanted the fill to be black to match the edges of the in-grown crotch.  My first thought was black epoxy.  That will work, but the black epoxy is expensive.  It would take $40 or so to fill the gap with black epoxy used for musical instrument building.  As I lay in bed thinking about the problem, I had an epiphany.  Why not use that black jack waterproof roofing cement that comes in a caulk tube?  It is black, waterproof, and dries hard.  It would be easy to apply with a caulking gun, and only costs a few bucks a tube.  So, I have a little experiment where I put some in the splits on another piece to see how it would dry and sand.  I plan to use an oil finish, and I do not know if the oil will react with or dissolve or smear the roofing compound.  So, the question is do you think that will work or do you have another solution? 

Here are a couple of pics of the top with the offending-spilt-ingrown-crotch-section.  The third pic is where I am experimenting with the "black jack" on another piece.

Am I crazy  ???.