iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Need Guidance on Buying Wood Chipper

Started by Nrowles, June 20, 2016, 10:33:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nrowles

To start, I am new to wood chippers.  I recently purchased 14 acres of plantation pines and built a home.  I want to clear a few acres over time.  The trees were not managed well and are not worth anything and wont be worth anything for a very long time.  I am looking to buy a chipper to get rid of these trees after I cut them down.  Any guidance on what to look for when looking at these chippers?

I'm planning to look at a towable Brushmaster with a 25hp Kohler and it takes up to 6" logs.  He's at work right now and says he doesn't know the model number.  Most of what I will be chipping is under 6" and if it does the job it would suit me well.  I don't know what to look for though.  Feed type, chip type, drive type, etc.  What questions should I ask?  What wearable components should I inspect?

Den Socling

We bought a small one. By the time you have trimmed all of the branches so that you can feed them, you have decided to build a brush pile instead.

Ron Wenrich

I bought a shredder/chipper for the back of my tractor.  It cleans stuff up pretty quick.  You can put the small branches through the shredder and chip heavier stuff up to 5".  There are some others out there that will chip up to 8" and seem reasonably priced.  If you have a 3 pt pto tractor, I would go that route, as you have one less engine to take care of.  Also easier to cart around.
Never under estimate the power of stupid people in large groups.

pine

Buy the biggest that you can justify. 
Hydraulic feed becomes very important as the size of the material goes up. 

Folks think 6" but that maynot and most likely does not mean 6" diameter because of branches.  Unless you want to spend a lot of time trimming branches you won't get much 6" diameter stuff in it.  I have never run a 25 hp  6 inch chipper but that seems a bit light from my experience.