iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Good threads on milling?

Started by Matt Agee, February 22, 2018, 07:02:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Matt Agee

I'm looking for some links to threads that have good info. on milling logs according to the pith, knots, ect.   I had found one a while back that was most helpful but I seem to have lost it.  Thanks for your help.

thecfarm

Good morning Matt Agee,welcome to the forum.
Whatcha get for a mill? 
Been sawing long? ;D
Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

SawyerTed

Welcome to the forum.  I'm no expert but I'm learning fast by knowing why I'm sawing a log a particular way and evaluating the results.  If the results aren't what I expected, I try to figure out why.  The wood will tell you if you look carefully.  

I've looked for some of what you are looking for and most is imbedded in threads on other topics. 

Searches here and on the web for plain sawing, rift sawing and quarter sawing will give you some useful information as well as studying lumber grading.  These helped me.
Woodmizer LT50, WM BMS 250, WM BMT 250, Kubota MX5100, IH McCormick Farmall 140, Husqvarna 372XP, Husqvarna 455 Rancher

paul case

Whatcha Sawin' ??? in Sawmills and Milling

This thread has a lot of info and should be some real good reading on how to saw almost anything including watermelon. Lots of pictures too.

PC
life is too short to be too serious. (some idiot)
2013 LT40SHE25 and Riehl edger,  WM 94 LT40 hd E15. Cut my sawing ''teeth'' on an EZ Boardwalk
sawing oak.hickory,ERC,walnut and almost anything else that shows up.
Don't get phylosophical with me. you will loose me for sure.
pc

firefighter ontheside

Woodmizer LT15
Kubota Grand L4200
Stihl 025, MS261 and MS362
2017 F350 Diesel 4WD
Kawasaki Mule 4010
1998 Dodge 3500 Flatbed

WV Sawmiller