iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

who's got the best Winch?

Started by arboristt, June 03, 2013, 01:34:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

arboristt

Hello Everyone,

My name is James and this is my first time posting on this forum. And i am looking for some advice from you experts.

I am in the Market for a portable Winch. Right now i have it narrowed down to a website called www.westcoastwinch.com, more specifically the PCW5000.

Has anyone used this type of gas powered winch before? any comments on its quality? do you have any suggestions on different types of portable winches that you have and like?

thanks, i will post and wait for your responses.

beenthere

Welcome to the forestry forum.
That capstan winch is the one I would go for and have come close to buying one like it, or the same. Usually manage to get by without the winch when pulling trees down or out of a tough place to get the tractor. So far, a long cable and the tractor have managed.
The capstan style gives a lot of control, and no need to worry about a cable getting twisted out of shape. IMO
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

giant splinter

I have been looking into the 5000 also, I like the specs better than its competition and the Honda motor is strong and quiet. I plan on using mine to yard trees off a slope. the capstan is a great way to go and you can use as much line as you need.
roll with it

Jay C. White Cloud

Have owned one of these for about 15 years.  Love it and use it often.  Most on the market are great tools to have around.

http://www.capstanropewinch.com/
"To posses an open mind, is to hold a key to many doors, and the ability to created doors where there were none before."

"When it is all said and done, they will have said they did it themselves."-teams response under a good leader.

arboristt

On the website, the work cycle says that it is continuous, but does anyone know how long that will actually last?