iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Rate my hinge

Started by wildcardab, June 02, 2019, 07:55:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wildcardab

Novice here. Cut this hinge then used a plunge cut to work my way back towards the opposite side of the tree leaving a trigger (strap) to cut when I was ready for it to fall. It went where I intended but didn't fall as readily as I was expecting after I cut the trigger (ended up using wedges). Thoughts on how I could improve? Seems like maybe I was too high on the hinge and didn't cut far enough "forward" towards the hinge itself. 

Old Greenhorn

Welcome to the forum. Doesn't look too bad, what you have there. Yes, the hinge could have been less thick, something around an inch and a half max and it is a little out of parallel with the front cut, but that will improve with practice. What I am having a hard time seeing in your photo is it appears that your face cut (the notch) is about 2" lower than the back cut. Am I seeing this right? If so, you want to have them both on the same level and that will also help a little. Which way was the tree leaning? 
Tom Lindtveit, Woodsman Forest Products
Oscar 328 Band Mill, Husky 350, 450, 562, & 372 (Clone), Mule 3010, and too many hand tools. :) Retired and trying to make a living to stay that way. NYLT Certified.
OK, maybe I'm the woodcutter now.
I work with wood, There is a rumor I might be a woodworker.

lxskllr

Looks like you bypassed your cuts on the face, and I'm not sure what I'm seeing on the right side. Looks strange. Stepping up on your backcut can help hold the tree to the stump, but it can also make it harder to wedge over, especially on very straight trees or short spars. I'd also suggest using plastic wedges. Steel works, but it'll wreck your chain if you hit it with the saw.

wildcardab

Quote from: lxskllr on June 02, 2019, 11:26:29 PM