iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Estimating for Design Costs

Started by EPops, September 16, 2020, 07:07:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

EPops

Hey everyone.

If you have ever done design work for clients on timber frames and/or post-and-beam structures before, how to you estimate design costs?  I'm looking at how to estimate just design work (where you would not be building any of the structure).

We (my brother and I) are experienced framers, and have designed structures before while also building the structures.

But we are venturing into just design work as well.  Without doing any building activities.

Sometimes we may want to perform basic engineering and sizing calculations for a structure and/or individual members (NOT stamped drawings, just our own calcs for goodness sake).  I am a structural engineer but cannot stamp drawings.

And of course, sketching the structure in CAD (including overall views, shop drawings for members, floor plans, sections, etc.).  We may never get into producing full, turn-key architectural drawings.  We may only ever stick to the timber frames themselves.  But it would be good to know for the future how everything is priced out.

I know everyone has their "secrets" and may not want to give away how they do things, to protect themselves.  I get it.  But as a young business owner and timber framer, where else can I turn to and learn from, other than the experienced and knowledgeable people who have come before?  We are not brazen and just want to learn and grow, and share this good building with others.