iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

cutting height on a jointer.

Started by Ed_K, October 30, 2020, 08:43:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ed_K

I bought a new set of jointer blades and tried to set the cutting height to use it. I used a magnetic dial indicator an got the blades all set to less than .003 then used a machinist straight edge an set the out feed table to equal the top of the blades.
 Then using the dial indicator set the in feed table to .062, the gage on the side of the in feed table is hard read.
 When I ran a board on edge a few times it started getting thinner for one side to the other.
 WHAT am I doing wrong. I've never used a jointer before.
Ed K

btulloh

Re-check your alignment first.  You described the right method, but sometimes it can be tricky to get it right.  

The other thing about using a jointer is that how, when, and where you put pressure on the board you're feeding is a bit of a learning curve.  Usually a problem like that will result in a board that's curved end to end though.  Side to side variation can happen if you're board is got a twist though.  Flattening a twisted board takes a little practice with where you put the pressure and when.

Generally, you want to transfer your down pressure to the the outfeed table as soon as there's enough board on the outfeed table to allow that.  A twist can rock side to side if you're not real careful, and you end up with a mess.

Adjusting knives can be finicky, but it sounds like you're approaching it the right way.  Also check the alignment of your infeed and outfeed tables to make sure they are in the same plane.  Worn ways on either one can lead to a misalignment.

Patience and perserverance pays when adjusting a jointer.
HM126

dougtrr2

Advice given above is good.  Here are a couple other considerations.