iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New to sawmills and some questions about timber

Started by Eciton, December 27, 2020, 12:13:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Eciton

Greetings all.   A little about me:  I live in Virginia and i'm looking at my own small mill for making use of some of the trees i dont want on the property.  I helped run my ex-father-in-laws mill for a short period of time but it was almost 20yrs ago.  I am an experienced woodworker but new to timber framing.

I have narrowed it down to the Woodland HM122 due to size and pricing since this is just a hobby for me and i dont need a giant mill or one that i can move around.

I have a lot of standing dead pine, oak, and ash varying in sizes but most 12''-15'' plus.  I have an equal amount laying on the ground for a couple years, some is total rot but most have a solid 8-10'' in the center.  I have a number of oaks that have been laying down for years but when i slab off the ends the 15''-18'' heartwood is still nice.

How do you determine what is worth cutting?  If i can only dig my knife in a quarter inch - 1'' on a 15'' log before hitting solid then it seems to me the inside might be ok for something.  

My goal is to build a small 16x16 timber frame building and some sheds at our property.  I will be harvesting live Virginia Pine for the timber frame pieces but would love to use the dead for something, even if its just siding or flooring.

thanks!!

SawyerTed

Welcome to the forum!  Often old logs lose the sapwood on the outside first, so the middle of some logs can produce fine lumber.  Some logs you don't know until you open them up. Like good wine, there's a fine line between sufficiently aged and rotten.

There's nothing like having a specific project to help you learn the ins and outs of making beams and lumber.  

Where are you in Virginia?  We have several members from the Old Dominion who could be neighbors. Possibly some of us in NC maybe neighbors