iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Wall covering

Started by Old guy, new pa, January 14, 2022, 10:09:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Old guy, new pa

Hi guys, 
I'm new to sawmilling and this forum. Please excuse stupid guestions.
Down at our hunting farm we put up a 40x80 stud framed shed, 14 foot sidewalls, vaulted trusses.
We walled off 20 feet one end for living quarters.   We want to line the interior with boards we cut from the farm.  Species include  cottonwood, shagbark hickory,  hickory,  silver maple, elm, hackberry,osage orange, some kind of cherry, and other lesser kinds.
We want a hunting lodge feel for the space.
Looking for ideas
Thanks in advance 
Rick

Brad_bb

What state?  Are you vapor sealing and conditioning the space?  Or are you just creating and unsealed space?  My concern is always bugs, mice, and mildew.

Eastern cottonwood dries pretty hard, but is not rot resistant at all if it gets wet.
Cherry is nice but subject to powder post beetles when dry if not in a closed conditioned space.
Osage is bomb proof but is a bit hard to mill, definitely hard to plan.  A spiral head planer is needed with carbide bits.
I've sawn a few red elm(slippery elm), but I don't really know the properties.
I've not sawn any hackberry.
I've not been inclined to saw any silvermaple as it seems to be a more brittle wood and not rot resistant.
Anything someone can design, I can sure figure out how to fix!
If I say it\\\\\\\'s going to take so long, multiply that by at least 3!

Old guy, new pa

Brad
Heated and cooled space 800 sq feet with partial loft.  Two bedrooms full bath andkitchen living area
Already spray foamed
In floor heat
Looking for unique walls and ceilings
Located south central Iowa
Thanks
Rick

Brad_bb