iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Norway spruce for dimensional lumber?

Started by wernerbrandes, April 21, 2022, 04:59:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wernerbrandes

New member here. My wife and I bought a 120-year-old home on a 2-acre piece of land about 50 miles outside Chicago, IL, USA. Plenty of the lot is wooded, and overgrown throughout. I've got 2 massive norway spruce trees right up on the house that are going to be coming down in the next week or so, and I am trying to decide whether it's worth it to keep the trunks for milling (dimensional lumber). I am a beginner homesteader who has a) passion, b) a knack for research, and c) some trades experience, but not much experience working with timber (yet).

These beasts are, as expected, straight as can be, and very tall (~80feet tall, base of one is ~29" wide, base of the other is 24" wide). It's probably not a shocker that this is a project house and there's going to be a fairly steady need for dimensional lumber over the course of the next few years. We have these two huge spruce trees, as well as a lot of black locust on the property that's going to get cleared out. In most cases, these are trees that have been growing for anywhere from 50-100+ years.

• Is it best to mill spruce while it's green?
  • Best to leave as slabs, or cut it down into boards right away?
  • I've read that spruce is a little stronger than pine. Wondering if that's true and if so, perhaps I'm better off milling the spruce into beams?
  • Is resinous wood like spruce tougher on saw blades/mills/chainsaws?

I realize there are a number of questions above — feel free to pick it all apart. Thanks in advance for your time and consideration! I've been lurking on this forum a while. So much good info on here! I'm excited to finally have some wood on the ground.

Don P