iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Need More Volume! - Woodmizer MR200 Multi Rip

Started by Willski55811, February 03, 2024, 04:59:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Willski55811

Hi there, I am just getting into my second year of running my business. I took it over from a guy that had been running it solo for 40 years and was looking to retire while I was looking at getting deeper into milling and selling wood. I've learned a lot this first year and without getting into too much detail, I need (and want) to produce more volume.

I cut somewhere around 50,000bf last year but that was with a relatively small portion of my time actually running the mill. The other time is taken up by stacking, running the kiln, running the moulder, sales, moving snow, etc.

I currently run a Qantrell 48" circular mill with a vertical edger, all hydraulic log handling and setworks run from a cab. I can typically produce about 400 bf/hr of stacked wood.

I have a really good market for paneling and rough cut 2x6 tamarack (or larch depending on who you are) which is where the increase in volume is needed. Basically need to cut a bunch of 1x6 and 2x6.

I am going to be hiring at least one employee soon and am looking at a gang saw or resaw to add into the mix. A resaw or even a multi head resaw seem to take up a serious amount of space while accomplishing the same task as a gang saw, as well as not as fast. This lead me to the Woodmizer MR200 multi rip. Does anyone have any experience with one of these? I can't really find much out there on it except for a video from woodmizer Europe. Is there another brand out there that makes a similar machine?

Adding this in my main saw would just cut two sided 6" cants and send them down the line to the gang saw to cut them in to 1x and 2x material in one shot.

Seems like it would be something like a $100,000 investment but I am confident in my markets and believe I could support it and keep it fed.