iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Muffler Issue

Started by rocklobster, February 24, 2024, 07:28:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

rocklobster

Hey everyone,

I've had a Husqvarna 350 for about 17 years and it still runs great, but a hole that holds one of the muffler bolts is stripped badly. I can put the bolt in and wiggle it around, can't even see any threads in it. The muffler keeps coming loose and melting the saw.

Before I get desperate enough to try JB Weld, I thought I'd see if there were any better ideas. What would you do?

Thanks.
Just a dude.

lxskllr

Helicoil or time-cert. I believe time-cert has a better reputation for these applications, but I have no first hand experience.

DHansen

Very common problem on the 350.  Don't use JBWeld.  The problem happens when they are not tightened properly.  I always tighten, run engine 10-15 minutes and tighten again hot.  That will prevent the problem from happening again.  As for your thread repairs, repair the threads with an insert as Lxskllr has suggested.  

DHansen

Muffler bolts from a 288 Husqvarna are slightly larger in diameter and the correct length.   You can retap to the 288 Diameter and use those 288 muffler bolts.  You will need to slightly enlarge the holes going through the 350 muffler. Still retorque bolt after the engine is hot.  I think its 15-18' Lbs. 

rocklobster

Thanks for the ideas! I knew there had to be a better way. I'll see what I can do.
Just a dude.

DHansen

After about 20 refueling check the bolt tension.  The 350 likes to vibrate the muffler bolts out.  Don't over tighten. 

Old Greenhorn

That is a great littel saw and well worth taking care of. I am on my second one and use it a lot for my mushroom logging because it's lite and I have a short (18") bar on it, perfect for what I do, except felling the bigger ones and my 562 is in hand for that.