iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Keeping track of when boards were sawn?

Started by Dan_Shade, March 20, 2006, 11:58:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dan_Shade

I'm a low level producer, a good day for me is 300bf sawing.  I've just been making big stacks of lumber and air drying it thus far.

i can't keep track of how long many of my boards have been in the stack.  One thing i've been kicking around is using a woodburner to put the month and year into the end of the board when I saw/stack it.  Of course, I'd want a stamp to do this, does anybody do such a thing?
Woodmizer LT40HDG25 / Stihl 066 alaskan
lots of dull bands and chains

There's a fine line between turning firewood into beautiful things and beautiful things into firewood.

Tom

I used to do it when I first started and wished sometimes that I still did.   When you get mixed stacks of species, it's handy to have them marked.  You don't need a burner though.  Use one of thos indelible black markers.  You can write what the board is and all the information on the end of the board.  You don't have to write on every board because you can write yourself a letter and describe everything.  Stuff like what species, when it was sawed, where it came from, like whose yard, how many boards are stacked there from that log, whether you think the are good boards or not, etc.  Color the end of the board and you can tell at a glance which one has all the info on it.

Brad_S.

FWIW, when I have clients who have trouble telling one wood from another ask how to keep track of what's what, I have them assign each species a color and paint the log ends. I would think that would work for you too, not because you don't know the species :D but that way a quick glance at the end of a stack would tell you whats in there.
Much like what Tom describes, I mark all my stacks with a lumber crayon on the side of one layer of boards giving the species, date cut and approximate grade of the bulk of the lumber in that stack.

EDIT: