iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

our day of cutting in the woods

Started by johncinquo, June 05, 2003, 11:38:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

johncinquo

I had a little whack of logs that I have been gathering out in my woods for several years, and I cut a few down the week before we scheduled to have "Hawby" come up with his portable mill.  It was a big experiment for me, and had no idea what was going to happen or what we would get out of it.  Ken came up the night before, and we started bright and early the next day.  We cut the new logs first, and got some pretty decent looking wood here and there.  After that we jumped on the old ones.  Some had worm holes, ants, termites and just plain rot.  Of what was good, some of it was really interesting and will make some great lumber.  I dunno how much we ended up with yet.  We worked all day saturday, I stacked and stickered part of sunday, and monday night finished it all off.  Tuesday morning I could barely lift my coffee cup.  Those darn desk jobs can kill a man.  we cut a lot to 3/4 and I plan to line the walls of my basement and create a "bears den" in part of it.  Also a lot of 4/4, 5/4, and some that fall in between here and there.  It was a lot of fun, a great learning experience, and I would say a successful experiment so far.  I will let this dry, and eventually move it to a kiln to finish it off.  I keep getting asked what I am going to do with all this wood, and I have no idea.  I have a few friends that make stuff off and on, and I always have a hankering to do something noce, so maybe this will inspire me.  
I will add some pics here.  Some of them came out so great, I hate to crush them down so much to post here.  I will post on my picture site and if you want you can view them there.

Here is Ken, his son Andy, Me, and my dad at his mill.

here is Ken and Andy at the mill

Here is ken and me loading a log

Herss the link to my online alblum.