iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

pillow block bearings

Started by fathead, February 21, 2009, 11:15:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fathead

in the process of building a20hp 30in. portable bandmill and have been told that i need to use a factory bearing assembly instead of two individual pillow blocks by the way my plans are for 19in. wheels with a two in. shaft

tyb525

Welcome to the forum! I can't help you, but a more knowledgeable member should be along shortly  :D
LT10G10, Stihl 038 Magnum, many woodworking tools. Currently a farm service applicator, trying to find time to saw!

Fla._Deadheader

Many portable bandmills use pillow blocks.  ??? ???
All truth passes through three stages:
   First, it is ridiculed;
   Second, it is violently opposed; and
   Third, it is accepted as self-evident.

-- Arthur Schopenhauer (1788-1860)

fathead

thanks for your reply im just learning to use the internet i think it will take me longer to type than to build the bandmill

bck

Quote from: fathead on February 21, 2009, 11:15:26 PM
have been told that i need to use a factory bearing assembly instead of two individual pillow blocks  

The person telling you that trying to sell you a factory bearing assembly ?

Using pillow blocks here with no problems.

Fla._Deadheader

Let me add, a factory bearing ASSEMBLY probably uses OIL for the bearing lube, instead of grease zerks.
   First, it is ridiculed;

fathead

thats good to know the bearing assembly price for a 2in. shaft was awful dear what brand pillow bearing would you suggest the ucp brand was very reasonable .skf has always been reliable but they cost 3 times as much

Fla._Deadheader

Brand names don't mean much, anymore. Try to find out if they are made in China. If so, I would not buy. Quality is not good, and, China has helped create the financial mess of the world, with cheaply made junk.  Just my opinion, here.  ::) ::)
   First, it is ridiculed;

MaddiesDad