iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

I Got Burned to the Tune of $3200.00

Started by JoeyLowe, February 12, 2002, 06:00:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JoeyLowe

:-[  Gather around and I'll share my sad story of how I lost $3200.00 and gained a little wisdom in the process.

As some of you may know, I'm new to the sawmill, having recently purchased a Woodmizer Super 40.  My father-in-law and I decided we should probably go ahead and buy a forklift or tractor with lift or something to move the logs around.  We were also loking to buy about 100 acres of land. Well opportunity came knocking and we found ourselves looking at 78 acres for sale.  Just so happened that the gentleman (loosely used) that owned the land was referred to us by a mutual friend and that he also had a Timberking B20 sawmill and Case 530CK Forklift for sale.   Asking price for the land was $1500.00 per acre.  He wanted another $12,900.00 for the mill and $3200.00 for the forklift but the mill and forklift had to be sold together.

Well of course, there was some urgency to buying the mill/forklift because he said that he had two other buyers looking at the mill/forklift and he would sell both to the first person with the money.  So after some deliberation, we decided to give him a check for $3200.00 with the understanding that it was to hold the mill/forklift until I could have a mechanic check them out.

Three days later and another $300.00 for the mechanic and I learned that the forklift was in need of major repairs to the tune of $8-$10,000.00.  So I called the guy and told him the deal was off and asked him to return my check.  He said he would.  Three days after that, he calls me back to tell me that he thought we had a deal; that he had already cashed the check and that he was not returning the money.