iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

ENIGNE HOURS....

Started by Dewey, May 27, 2014, 11:08:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dewey

I have a Timber Harvester with a 27 HP Kohler Engine.... It has 6000 hrs plus on it. It has been by for the Best motor I have had on this mill .The Mill has 15000 hours total.
The engine has blown a head gasket it still is running and actually I have been sawing daily with it for a couple of months ..IT has gotten bad enough so that I finally called a Kohler dealer to see about repairing. All he kept saying that it's amazing that it lasted that long.... most are rebuilt with half the hours.... He thinks I'd be better off buying a new engine...
I'm just wondering what kind of hours you guys have got on your motors and also thoughts on rebuild or buy new Thanks

york

Hi,as a matter of fact,i just ordered that very same engine from Cooks,should be here soon and is going on my old TH...think i would go new,Albert
Albert

pineywoods

I got 6000 hrs out of an 18 hp briggs on my lt40. Replaced it with a 25 hp liquid cooled kawasaki. Neighbor sawyer just swapped out one of those kohlers at 5500 hrs. He got the best deal on a new kohler from woodmizer.
1995 Wood Mizer LT 40, Liquid cooled kawasaki,homebuilt hydraulics. Homebuilt solar dry kiln.  Woodmaster 718 planner, Kubota M4700 with homemade forks and winch, stihl  028, 029, Ms390
100k bd ft club.Charter member of The Grumpy old Men

ladylake

Running a mill that much I'd transplant a 30 to 40 hp diesel on it.  Used lawn mowers might be a good place to find a low hour used one reasonable.    Steve
Timberking B20  18000  hours +  Case75xt grapple + forks+8" snow bucket + dirt bucket   770 Oliver   Lots(too many) of chainsaws, Like the Echo saws and the Stihl and Husky     W5  Case loader   1  trailers  Wright sharpener     Suffolk  setter Volvo MCT125c skid loader

StimW