The Forestry Forum is sponsored in part by:

iDRY Vacuum Kilns


Forestry Forum
Sponsored by:


TimberKing Sawmills



Toll Free 1-800-582-0470

LogRite Tools



Norwood Industries Inc.




Your source for Portable Sawmills, Edgers, Resaws, Sharpeners, Setters, Bandsaw Blades and Sawmill Parts

EZ Boardwalk Sawmills. More Saw For Less Money!

STIHLDealers.com sponsored by Northeast STIHL


Woodland Sawmills

Peterson Swingmills

 KASCO SharpTech WoodMaxx Blades

Turbosawmill

Sawmill Exchange

Michigan Firewood, your BRUTE FORCE Authorized Dealer

Baker Products

ECHO-Bearcat

iDRY Wood Lumber Vacuum Drying for everyon

Nyle Kiln Dry Systems

Chainsawr, The Worlds Largest Inventory of Chainsaw Parts





Author Topic: Woodmizer lt15 width?  (Read 3178 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sst04

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Age: 43
  • Location: Georgia
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Woodmizer lt15 width?
« on: January 30, 2015, 09:36:33 PM »
Can anyone with an lt15 tell me how wide the bed is from outside to outside.

And possible take some close ups pictures of the head where band is tightened and bandwheels are adjusted.

Been thinking of putting one together, I have enough metal for everything and possibly a 22hp onan diesel, and a lathe.

I can't find the pics I'm looking for on google.


Offline WDH

  • Forester
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 29995
  • Age: 66
  • Location: Perry, GA
  • Gender: Male
  • April 1998 - August 2008
    • Share Post
    • hamsleyhardwood.com
Re: Woodmizer lt15 width?
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2015, 07:15:46 AM »
Where in GA?  You can come see mine. 
Woodmizer LT40HDD35, John Deere 2155, Kubota M5640SU, Nyle L53 Dehumidification Kiln, and a passion for all things with leafs, twigs, and bark.  hamsleyhardwood.com

Offline sst04

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Age: 43
  • Location: Georgia
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: Woodmizer lt15 width?
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2015, 09:40:26 AM »
Milledgeville. I may do that. Sometimes I have to go through perry to work in hawkknsville.

Offline WDH

  • Forester
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 29995
  • Age: 66
  • Location: Perry, GA
  • Gender: Male
  • April 1998 - August 2008
    • Share Post
    • hamsleyhardwood.com
Re: Woodmizer lt15 width?
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2015, 11:11:55 PM »
I live between Perry and Hawkinsville.  Halfway in between. 
Woodmizer LT40HDD35, John Deere 2155, Kubota M5640SU, Nyle L53 Dehumidification Kiln, and a passion for all things with leafs, twigs, and bark.  hamsleyhardwood.com

Offline Ocklawahaboy

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 713
  • Location: Ocala fl
  • Gender: Male
  • Learning as I go
    • Share Post
Re: Woodmizer lt15 width?
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2015, 11:50:19 PM »
If you have the materials and skills you need to build a mill, why not decide the best width for you and go with that?  Any particular reason for basing it off an lt15?

Offline thecfarm

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 29892
  • Age: 58
  • Location: Chesterville,Maine
  • Gender: Male
  • If I don't do it,it don't get done
    • Share Post
Re: Woodmizer lt15 width?
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2015, 07:01:53 AM »
Make it long too. I have a mill that can cut 20 foot logs. Really helps on the 16 foot ones. The longer track gets the head out of the way and when I roll a 16 foot log on,I have 4 extra feet instead of inches. It's kinda hard to move a log length wise on a mill with no hyds.
Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

Offline BmoreReclaimed

  • member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • I'm new!
    • Share Post
Re: Woodmizer lt15 width?
« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2015, 12:08:25 PM »
The Lt15 bed is roughly 30inches wide.  I have 36"timbers underneath and they protrude a couple inches each way.  The width between guides is about 24" (this 24" is offset over the bunk stop, so you aren't cutting 24" square stock) and the height scale reads 27" at the highest point.   
I respect you guys building your own rigs, but I am a tinkerer at heart, also have piles of random material and was all fired up to make my own, and the math didn't add up.  After buying my mill and doing a complete alignment for the first time, I realized that this thing is adjustable in every single way.  Almost every point of connection is adjustable for squaring the head/band wheels/blades/height adjustment in relation to the bed.  This adjustability would of taken me hours and hours to get right.   All of these points are what you are going to pay close attention to.   I am a furniture maker ripping boards out of timbers, so perfection is what I'm after.
 

Offline sst04

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Age: 43
  • Location: Georgia
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: Woodmizer lt15 width?
« Reply #7 on: February 02, 2015, 12:48:19 AM »
I guess the reason for basing it off an lt 15 is that I use to have one and
I really liked it. Also I the size, if I do it the same I can use wm blades or similar. It will be 20ft long and stationary.

I have been looking at all the adjustments on the head and its going to be tough.

So far here is what I have come up with.

Band wheels from surplus center. The website only list a 1 7/16 keyed version. It looks as if I could bore it out to 2" and drive bearings in it rather than use pillar bearings.  So I could use taper roller bearings in the wheels or regular roller bearings.

For band wheel shaft, I thought about either a trailer axle stub that is square, fitted into a larger piece with adjustment bolts to adjust up down side to side.

The bed will be made of 2x6, I'm not sure on rollers yet. Either v type casters or bearings. I was thinking of getting a 20 ft piece of flat maybe .5 thick and bolting or welding it to the side similar to the wm design. Although the wm has a milled piece for this.

Ill just buy the kit that has the small wheel the band blade rides on, maybe a shaft from a long cylinder for the in and out movement. Even thought about linear guides, maybe put some metal rack on it and use a small 12v motor to move it in and out.

As for a motor, if I get this diesel going, ill use it. If not, I will probably get an electric.


Thanks for all the input.
Now, if a mill pops up somewhere for a very very good deal, ill get it. Haha

WDH, if I go to hawkknsville any this week, I will stop by if you are around. Pm me a contact number if you will. Trips are usually short notice for me.


Offline willmyers0169

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Age: 37
  • Location: white plains GA
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm new!
    • Share Post
Re: Woodmizer lt15 width?
« Reply #8 on: February 03, 2015, 04:27:00 AM »
im just south of Greensboro, if you need to come look at mine.
Machinist, WM LT15 230 JD skidsteer 2010 JD 2955 JD Jonsered chainsaw

Offline customsawyer

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 4863
  • Age: 51
  • Location: Rentz, Ga.
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
    • The Custom Sawyer
Re: Woodmizer lt15 width?
« Reply #9 on: February 04, 2015, 04:58:46 AM »
Welcome to the forum.
Two LT70s and to much other support equipment to mention.
www.thecustomsawyer.com

Offline Sixacresand

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 2269
  • Age: 71
  • Location: Gordon, Georgia
  • Gender: Male
  • John and Nancy
    • Share Post
Re: Woodmizer lt15 width?
« Reply #10 on: February 04, 2015, 08:05:46 PM »
I hope you have Good luck on building your mill-or buying one.  I would like to see it when you are up and milling. 

Offline WDH

  • Forester
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 29995
  • Age: 66
  • Location: Perry, GA
  • Gender: Male
  • April 1998 - August 2008
    • Share Post
    • hamsleyhardwood.com
Re: Woodmizer lt15 width?
« Reply #11 on: February 04, 2015, 08:23:02 PM »
John,

How is the Sawyer Hostel coming  ???.
Woodmizer LT40HDD35, John Deere 2155, Kubota M5640SU, Nyle L53 Dehumidification Kiln, and a passion for all things with leafs, twigs, and bark.  hamsleyhardwood.com

Offline Sixacresand

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 2269
  • Age: 71
  • Location: Gordon, Georgia
  • Gender: Male
  • John and Nancy
    • Share Post
Re: Woodmizer lt15 width?
« Reply #12 on: February 05, 2015, 08:25:31 PM »
John,

How is the Sawyer Hostel coming  ???.
If I build sawyer Hostel before I finish the front porch, the wife says I may living in it.  ;D

Offline sst04

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Age: 43
  • Location: Georgia
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: Woodmizer lt15 width?
« Reply #13 on: February 06, 2015, 06:57:02 PM »
 

  Need opinions on this up and down design for the head.
Picture should be attached.

2 inch square for post and 5.5inch square for head to be welded to.
The piece of 5.5 would be about 12" long with sawhead welded to it.

There would be two sets of bearings on all sides, with 1/2 inch bolts going through the bearings. I would make some eccentric inserts for adjustment of bearings and getting it level.

Is this too much? I've been looking at designs and I have really liked what I found. I want it to be completely adjustable everywhere and stiff.

[img width=650 --Photos MUST be in the Forestry Forum gallery!!!!!--.com/albums/e288/SSTEASLEY/Mobile%20Uploads/78C3E4B0-6D20-489F-8F70-2B8F4ED91FC0_zps0gpn98o7.jpg[/img]




Pic didn't work. Will have to figure that out.

Offline sst04

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Age: 43
  • Location: Georgia
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: Woodmizer lt15 width?
« Reply #14 on: February 06, 2015, 07:17:59 PM »
Ok, there is a photo of a drawing in my album. Couldn't figure out how to post it here.
If anyone gets a chance, take a look at it and let me know what you think.

Offline beenthere

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 26932
  • Location: Southern Wisconsin, USA
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: Woodmizer lt15 width?
« Reply #15 on: February 06, 2015, 07:22:45 PM »
You can post it here, as the hard part is done. ;)

Go to the post you want to put the pic. Click on "Modify".
Click on the blue hi-lited line below, it will take you to a new window. Click on "My Gallery" (not upload photo).

Your pics will come up, and just click on the one you want. It will enlarge.

Then scroll down that page and you will see the tab "Insert image in post".  Answer "yes" and your pic is in your edited post.
south central Wisconsin
 It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

Offline sst04

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Age: 43
  • Location: Georgia
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: Woodmizer lt15 width?
« Reply #16 on: February 06, 2015, 08:17:38 PM »
You can post it here, as the hard part is done. ;)

Go to the post you want to put the pic. Click on "Modify".
Click on the blue hi-lited line below, it will take you to a new window. Click on "My Gallery" (not upload photo).

Your pics will come up, and just click on the one you want. It will enlarge.


Then scroll down that page and you will see the tab "Insert image in post".  Answer "yes" and your pic is in your edited post.

Ha, thanks!


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via linkedin Share via pinterest Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via tumblr Share via twitter

question
LT15 width

Started by VT-Woodchuck on Sawmills and Milling

9 Replies
1792 Views
Last post September 21, 2009, 08:58:28 PM
by tyb525
xx
LT15 cut width and waves

Started by Brad_bb on Sawmills and Milling

15 Replies
1924 Views
Last post December 17, 2017, 07:25:07 PM
by Brad_bb
xx
WoodMizer LT15 Help

Started by Mark M on Sawmills and Milling

30 Replies
8504 Views
Last post May 27, 2003, 06:19:50 PM
by Kevin
xx
WoodMizer LT15

Started by MikePatro on Sawmills and Milling

35 Replies
6254 Views
Last post September 07, 2014, 05:25:59 PM
by customsawyer
 


Powered by EzPortal