iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Carb woes, older Craftsman.

Started by rusted, December 28, 2004, 10:07:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

rusted

Well, I'm not a pro and I can't afford a new saw that I'm willing to spend money on, so I'm using this older Craftsman my FIL gave to me.

This saw has hardly been used.

I had a problem with it dying when I was bucking.  After some work I found I had a chip of wood in the reed valve holding it open and blowing air out of the crankcase.  It would still run but not well.

I re-assembled the saw and it wouldn't run at all.  In fact, air bubbles would be in the gas line and they don't seem to be moving TOWARD the carb.  I can use a dropper and drop fuel down the carb throat and the saw runs on that fuel just fun.  As soon as it runs out, the saw quits.

I got a rebuild kit and found both diaphrams 'puckered' when I disassembled the carb.  The metering needle looked fine but I replaced the entire assembly anyway.  The only check I could find came with the kit, the lever is .06 inches below the gasket surface (if that means anything to you.)

Anyway upon re-assembly the saw still does not run unless I put gas directly in the carb.  

I would think that would indicate that I DON'T have an air leak, otherwise why would it run?  It just doesn't seem to be pumping fuel.

http://home.comcast.net/~trailrig/carb.jpg
http://home.comcast.net/~trailrig/carbdia.jpg

Admin edit: Photos changed to links due to large width and file size. This helps page loading for our friends with slow connections.

rusted

I have checked all the fuel lines for air leaks, they are tight if I suck on them I get a nice mouthful of gas.  :D

The fuel 'weight' works fine, I can open the gas cap and blow in the fuel tank and if the fuel hose is off the carb, fuel runs fine through the whole tank/filter/hose system.

sawguy21